The Lamp

Where truth can be shared.

It has been a while…

Posted by thelamp on December 28, 2006

It has been a while since I have posted something from myself.  Sadly time continues to esacpe where I have time to sit, think, and reflect in words.  Often my reflection time has been on the drive to and from work or perhaps brief intervals in my day. 

Perhaps I am an example of a “normal” person who lives their life as a Christian.  I get up, pray when I can (I ought to do it more), work all day doing a myriad of things, and come home…sometimes wishing I had another shot to begin the day again except different.  Perhaps more prayerful…Perhaps more studious at work…Perhaps more productive?  Whatever, I seem to be at times chasing a rabbit.  Running like crazy to catch something to question whether it was worth while running that hard for.

I was asked what would I like to be doing when I do (at the point of death or round about that time).  My response was not in guilt, shame, or with regrets that I didn’t accomplish what I wanted.  My dying wish–for lack of better words–would be to be right in the middle of telling someone about Jesus.  I don’t care how I die, as long as that is the last thing I did. 

Which gives me pause to think back to a conversation I had a while back with another Christian.  Often Christians cannot wait for Christ’s return.  Although I do not wish to deny myself the opportunity to go to heaven, but I would like to see Christ’s return pushed or held off as long as possible.  Why?  Think about it, 300 million in the US…over 6 billion in the world.  The majority of them will fill hell with even room to spare…and yet here I am typing away at a keyboard.

I encourage anyone and everyone who is born again, tell somebody about Jesus.  If you’re not saved, there is no better time than now to give your heart to Jesus.  Repent of your sins, ask Jesus into your life.  “It’s appointed unto man once to die, and after this the judgment” (Hebrews 9:27).

2 Responses to “It has been a while…”

  1. Tony Young said

    ‘the lamp’
    Like your blog! Looks like you have a sincere heart for God and feel His heartbeat for souls – all to uncommon in His body.

    Just wanted to leave a comment on this posting of yours. I am relieved to know there are other Christians out there like yourself who want the Great Commission fulfilled (and not just by the ‘evangelist’ or ‘pastor’). My understanding is that it’s all of our (Christian’s) responsability. Of course, the Bible is very clear about this. I also noticed your links to ‘Living Waters Ministries’ and ‘Way of the Master’. We have an evangelism team that evangelizes every Sat night downtown Denver at a Christian coffee shop called JC’s Ground Coffee & Tea House – http://jcsground.com/. Check out our blog for more info:

    http://joeschmo.wordpress.com

    The premise of the word ‘joeschmo’ is to point out that anyone can share their faith as long as they have an understanding of and appreciation for what Christ has done. The team is comprised of ‘foolish things’, privy pots (clay jars). Please keep us in prayer for strength and perseverance and Holy Spirit empowerment and wisdom as we strive to fulfill the Great Commission. You’re welcomed to stop by and check it out and leave your thoughts. I’m going to add you to my blogroll if you don’t mind. Hope we can keep in touch. Christians need to band together these last days so that we can be strengthened and get the work of God done before His return.

    Tony

  2. thelamp said

    Sure thing, and not bad site. I was reading a great book “Tortured for Christ”. I HIGHLY recommend it. It mentioned that many churches (and denominations) quibble over trivial matters while neglecting the important things of evangelism. The book mentioned a lot more. I recommend the book…just bring some hankys and hope you have good knees for praying to Jesus. It’s really convicting, too.
    On a side note, let us know if you’re interested in your website being hosted and/or some e-mail service. http://www.covenantdata.com

Leave a Reply

 
