The Lamp

Where truth can be shared.

Happy Thanksgiving

Posted by thelamp on November 22, 2006

My Fellow Americans:

As we are celebrate a national holiday of Thanksgiving, we must pause in remembrance of this day is.  In 1621, the Pilgrims and the Indians came together in a time of celebration or brotherhood.  Everyone was greatful and thankful.

As you surround yourself with family and friends, let’s take time to be thankful.

  1. Let us be thankful unto God and His Son, the Lord Jesus Christ that we may enjoy being together and for blessings from above.  Furthermore, that we may have salvation only by grace through faith in the Lord Jesus Christ.
  2. Let us be thankful for the millions of our military–both in past and present–who rose to the call of duty.  From the first who fought to insure our freedom in the 1700s to even 2006.  Thank you.
  3. Let us be thankful for our parents, teachers, pastors, and leaders who instill values into our lives and may they receive continual flow of wisdom from God.
  4. Let us also be thankful not just in the large things such as houses, cars, jobs…but even be thankful for food to eat, a roof over our head, and clothes to wear.

As you celebrate Thanksgiving in your way, be sure to not let this only be a once a year event but truly celebrated 365 days a year.

God bless you and God bless America.

Robert Williams
The Lamp

2 Responses to “Happy Thanksgiving”

  1. chdstroh said

    Happy Thanksgiving!

  2. Happy Thanksgiving!
    Here is the post that went up on my real writing page for today:
    Over The River and Through The Woods

    My fondest memories of Thanksgiving are of going to my grandmothers’ houses. I was blessed in that I am able to remember two grandmothers plus one great grandmother. That alone is enough for anyone to offer thanksgiving! Both of my grandmothers started off life as poor country girls. One stayed on the country and lived there until her death when I was 6. The other moved to the city where she still lives at the ripe young age of 92.

    The one that lived in the country was poor by most people’s standards, yet I never noticed it. The other moved to the city and ran a rest home and lived, and still lives, comfortably. Though they lived very different lives, they both had faith in God. And. It was visible through their lifestyles. While ones faith was shown sometimes through what she had, the other’s was shown through what she didn’t have. For some reason though I never noticed the have and the have not; the faith was what shown through to a little boy.

    I remember walking into their houses on thanksgiving and the smell of the home cooking meeting me at the door. Thanksgiving of 1977 was to be different: it was the first Thanksgiving after the death of my grandfather. We left our home and went over the river, the Black Water River in Franklin, Virginia, and through the woods of Gates County, North Carolina until we reached Elizabeth City where my grandmother lives. I couldn’t wait to open the door and let the smell of turkey and the fragrance of all the pies fill my sinuses. The minute the car stopped my taste buds were doing the doo-see-doo in anticipation of the glories they were about to experience.

    The door swung open but no smell waltzed out. Not even the slightest hint of pumpkin pie was in the air. The house was quiet. The kitchen was dark. My grandmother had taken sick the night before and was unable to cook. A quick check of the yellow pages proved fruitless in the task of trying to find a restaurant. Simply stated, “this was 1977, and restaurants and grocery stores closed for holidays!” We made an excursion to Granny’s refrigerator and took inventory: Bologna, hot dogs, eggs, bacon, Pepsi, and ice cream in the freezer. It might not have been what President Carter feasted on, and I must admit I held a grudge against the turkey he had earlier pardoned, but I noticed that we all were full. My stomach didn’t seem to care that it didn’t have turkey with all the trimmings; it never once asked for pumpkin pie.

    We spent to the day talking to granny reminiscing about times past and looking to times future. I took a quick trip across town and visited with my granny’s sister, my great aunt. And, great she was. She had been in poor health for many years and yet she took my grandmother to the store daily after my grandfather died (my granny never has driven). Her first name was Grace and her middle name Angelica (somehow I think her mother knew the kind of girl she was going to be). She told me to go look on her bar there was something there for me: a nice freshly baked chocolate pie: which I felt guilty about eating any of as my parents and sister were at my grandmother’s house not enjoying this sensation. I talked to my aunt grace for a while then made my way back to my granny’s house for the trip through the woods and over the river back home. And some where between my aunt’s and my granny’s something strange came into my mind. Could it be that thanksgiving isn’t about pumpkin pie and turkey? Could it be thanksgiving is something a little bit more than all those trimmings? Could it be that my stomach knew best: That it was just as full on bologna and it was happy?

    Could it be that through my granny’s sickness that I saw thanksgiving for what it was? Though she was well off, she showed me how to be thankful in poverty, Just as many years before my other grandmother, Ma’maw, had showed me how to be thankful through her own poverty. Could it be that thanksgiving is just something a little bit more than a feast a king could afford? Could it be that it is that feeling that touches you when you around the people you love and love you back. Paul wrote that he could do all things through Christ who gave him strength. And, both of my grandmothers had that strength. It didn’t matter that one’s table might have had more variety on it than the other’s, what mattered was the way the table was set. And, they both set their tables with love.

    Tomorrow as you set your table remember it isn’t so much what you set out before your guest, it is how you set the table!

    Happy Thanksgiving!

    23 November 2006

Leave a Reply

 
