The Lamp

Where truth can be shared.

Real Christianity

Posted by thelamp on July 14, 2006

I attended a men’s discipleship class this past Friday.  Pastor Herb Rubi was speaking in Pastor Richard Rubi’s church.  He spoke of John the Baptist.  My pastor, David Herrick, preached yesterday (both services) regarding something that began to stir in my Spirit with what to say this morning.  I have given some thought but mostly wanted to hear from God.  But first, I would like to quote a song from Todd Agnew.  The song is entitled “My Jesus”.

Which Jesus do you follow?
Which Jesus do you serve?
If Ephesians says to imitate Christ
Then why do you look so much like the world.
Cause my Jesus bled and died
He spent His time with thieves and liars
He loved the poor and accosted the arrogant
So which one do you want to be?Blessed are the poor in spirit
Or do we pray to be blessed with the wealth of this land
Blessed are they that hunger and thirst for righteousness
Or do we ache for another taste of this world of shifting sandCause my Jesus bled and died for my sins
He spent His time with thieves and sluts and liars
He loved the poor and accosted the rich
So which one do you want to be?
Who is this that you follow
This picture of the American dream
If Jesus was here would you walk right by on the other side or fall down and worship at His holy feet

Pretty blue eyes and curly brown hair and a clear complexion
Is how you see Him as He dies for Your sins
But the Word says He was battered and scarred
Or did you miss that part
Sometimes I doubt we’d recognize Him

Cause my Jesus bled and died
He spent His time with thieves and the least of these
He loved the poor and accosted the comfortable
So which one do you want to be?

Cause my Jesus would never be accepted in my church
The blood and dirt on His feet would stain the carpet
But He reaches for the hurting and despised the proud
I think He’d prefer Beale St. to the stained glass crowd
And I know that He can hear me if I cry out loud

I want to be like my Jesus!
I want to be like my Jesus!

Not a posterchild for American prosperity, but like my Jesus
You see I’m tired of living for success and popularity
I want to be like my Jesus but I’m not sure what that means to be like You Jesus
Cause You said to live like You, love like You but then You died for me
Can I be like You Jesus?
I want to be like my Jesus

I have been reflecting upon various things Jesus has spoken of the subject of giving it your all.  We have an example in John 6 where Jesus challenges people to make a decision to follow God and leave all.  We also have the people who make excuses before they can truly follow God (the people saying I just got married, I have a new ox, etc.).   Likewise we have Paul who speaks of gifts and fruits and the Spirit as well as a “laundry list” of people who practice things will not inherit the Kingdom of God.  James also deals with people being double-minded.  And of course we have in Revelation 3:16, Jesus speaking about how people either need to go for God or not…but make the decision because walking the line of no commitment and full commitment bothers Him.

It is no wonder why we Christians have a difficult time winning this world to Jesus Christ.  Jesus gave us the great commision and how have we responded to it?  We have Christian “entertainers” who sing song that you cannot really tell are they seeing about Jesus, a veiled God (lest they offend somebody), or about a person.   It bothers me to no end when famed Christian singers sing songs about people (and not people giving their hearts to Jesus or realizing they need Jesus) rather than using their God-given talents for reaching the lost.  Question: list 10 Christian entertainers who truly call for sinners to repent (an altar call) and do NOT charge ticket admission and reach to SINNERS and not create a euphoric event.

In another arena there are “preachers” who willingly decide to not preach the Cross, repentance, sin, etc. because they’re concerned with “numbers”.  If we swing the pendulum all the way to the other side, we have “preachers” who are so self-righteous and kill the life the God can implant into people.  This can be with regards to legalism (women can’t wear makeup, they must wear long dresses, cannot cut their hair, etc.) or that unless you belong to our denomination or church, you will go to hell (see the premise with the Catholic religion).

Then we have the whole issue of demoniations that tug and pull while we have “christians” have hour-long (or longer) singathons rather than an actual church service as if God needs to hear us sing over and over and over again (look to Isaiah 1). 

So with that, who are true Christians?  Who are the Christians that truly make a difference for the Kingdom of Heaven?  Who are the Christians that are winning this world to Jesus and not wasting time splitting hairs and wasting time, money, and effort putting down people or churches or pastors because of “offenses” (see in John and Matthew where Jesus speaks of offenses will come as well as see David’s reaction towards Saul while Saul continues to hotly pursue David)?  It’s no wonder why we Christians have a difficult time getting people to heaven.  Take this statistic into consideration.  150,000 people die every single day.  If we were to take a very conservative number and say 2,000 were truly born-again believers, that means that there are 148,000 people in hell and awaiting final judgment (read Revelation 20).  What are you doing to bring that number down?  Are you wasting time complaining about “my former pastor” or “that church/denomination”?  Or are you putting your petty and selfish life aside and focusing on what Jesus commanded us to do?  Which Jesus do you serve?  Keep in mind, any personal adjustment to who Jesus is in the Bible is considered idolatry.

What do you think?  Post your comments below.

One Response to “Real Christianity”

  1. […] I would like to follow-up to a previous blog entry entitled “Real Christianity”.  Please go to https://thelamp.wordpress.com/2006/07/14/real-christianity/ to read the entry prior to reading today’s post. […]

Leave a Reply

 
